Research Problems: Loneliness

When I started this blog, I imagined it would be a place where I could post short articles about topics I was investigating. I wanted it to be a means of communicating ideas to others who have similar research interests, as well as offering some insight to friends and family regarding how I work, what interests me, and why.

It hasn’t worked out that way.

Over the past month, I have been struggling with a lot of stresses–from a hectic end of the academic semester (typical) to witnessing a murder in my neighborhood (not typical). There are many reasons I feel drained of mental, physical and emotional energy. But with respect to my writing, I ultimately realized that I need to address another issue, because I was sure I couldn’t be the only writer/researcher who routinely struggles not to abandon her work because it subjects her to long periods of loneliness and isolation.

I’m not, actually. A quick Google search showed me that this topic isn’t new to bloggers: see here and here and here and here for just a handful of examples within the past few years. These are generic articles aimed at any writer, though, and I think there are a few additional dilemmas faced by researchers in very specialized areas. So I am going to elaborate on a few of those now.

My post count tells me that, at present, I have 24 half-finished drafts of posts on various topics. I tinker with one (or more) of them every day. I spend even more time on drafts of the actual manuscript, but am equally unproductive there. I have (I think) five–yes, five–actual followers on WordPress (the count looks higher due to the page being linked with Twitter, though I don’t think more than a handful of people actually read what gets posted there, either). Admittedly, I don’t have high goals for my readership, because the topics I explore are quite obscure and specialized. But what becomes problematic is when I get stuck in my work and I realize that I don’t have very many people I can turn to, who have enough knowledge of the subject themselves to offer me sound advice.

I am an introvert who enjoys solitude to a point, and writing is, by its very nature, frequently a solitary endeavour. But research doesn’t have to be. I work at a small college, and most of the faculty can go to coffee or lunch with others in their department (or even the equivalent department at other nearby colleges) and talk about their projects and get insight from someone who has more than a passing interest in what they are doing. With regard to my collections-based work, and some of my Parkinson research, my supervisor, Doug Shedd, is my go-to person. No one else at my institution has the in-depth personal interest in my projects. But there are limits to what Doug can help with when it comes to my research. So I turn to other academics in other places, many of whom I have never met in person, and each of whom has a special research interest which intersects with my own.

And that is where problems begin.

First off, most of these scholars and academics (and even the research librarians at archives) don’t reply to queries. I choose to assume that maybe my emails just get filtered into the spam folder, because surely they wouldn’t deliberately ignore an email in which I have volunteered information about a rare document I turned up in an archives and thought might be useful to them? Or one in which I thanked them for an article or book that was helpful to me? Or one asking whether I could order a digitization of a letter and if so, what might it cost? Last month, I was horrified to realize that I almost missed two queries from other researchers, for the very reason their messages got sent to my spam folder, and now I find myself checking it obsessively. (Side question: is it appropriate to follow up with a phone call to see if they received my email? I don’t want to be too pushy… and maybe my message just wasn’t of interest to them after all.)

Once in a while, someone does reply. And that’s like Christmas, because someone actually gave my message some thought and took the time (yes, it takes time!) to respond. But then I struggle with another dilemma: how to carry on a productive conversation about complicated subject matter, without inundating the poor person with a volume of reading material that wasn’t on their agenda? Much of this type of brainstorming could occupy 30 minutes or an hour if I could meet with that individual over coffee, but because I can’t, the process of intellectual discussion becomes massively overwhelming to both of us. I never know whether a phone call is–or isn’t–appropriate; I don’t want to be forward and somehow phone calls seem intrusive to me. They mean bothering someone at work or at home and both those places seem off-limits unless the person I am contacting indicates otherwise. A fellow academic in another field suggested using Skype, but when you have correspondents spread across every time zone on the planet (many of whom focus on the 18th century in part because of an innate aversion to modern technology) it gets harder to find a solution. I spend a lot of time apologizing to people for the volume of text I send them, but I haven’t found–and no one has suggested–a feasible alternative approach.

So here I am, with a thousand ideas and questions and queries bouncing through my head from dawn to dusk, and as fast as I write them down and identify who might have the answers or the insight, I find myself at a point where I hesitate to even send a message. If I am contacting someone new, the likelihood of hearing a response is very, very small. If it is going to one of the five people I know who are most likely to reply, I hesitate because I am always imposing on these same people for feedback or input and I am wary of being a drain on their time and energy. These are kind, very knowledgeable people, but they have busy lives that don’t include me, even if my own work would be so much less without them.

So now I sit, alone in the corner of a coffee shop, listening to the conversations at other tables as other professionals discuss their work projects. It’s difficult not to envy them. I am thinking about the time someone I love very much was frustrated with my intense focus on Parkinson’s work and blurted out in exasperation (in front of three other people), “No one cares about Sydney Parkinson!” I couldn’t write anything for many years after that incident. Although every writer chooses a topic that sparks their creative interest and engages their passions, it’s rare that any writer is entirely indifferent to whether or not those interests are shared by others. Sitting here, alone with my thoughts, I wonder for the millionth time whether I am wasting my time. And wondering whether anyone is out there who can convince me otherwise. At the moment, I am writing to keep myself distracted, to keep from going insane with anxiety and frustration and depression. I don’t know how long that will be enough. Or whether I will screw up with the few connections I have managed to make in the process.

I would love to say I have pithy advice for writers, researchers and students who are struggling with these issues, but I don’t. The only thing I can offer is a bit of honesty. If in the future I find another solution, I’ll be sure to share it.

As ever, if you have ideas or comments, you can email me at esmith@randolphcollege.edu.

2 thoughts on “Research Problems: Loneliness”

  1. Kia ora – greetings from NZ Emily,

    Noone will have the same passion for your work that you do. Noone has the same passion that I have for my research. Around the world, many of us work in similar isolation. And unless we are extremely disciplined it can be easy to allow ourselves to become distracted and not stay focussed. In my case it is continuing to deal with an insurance company to get our home fixed – seven years after the earthquakes that destroyed Christchurch in 2011. So I tend not to respond unless I have something specific to offer.

    All the best, Patricia

    On 24 May 2018 at 03:28, Sydney Parkinson’s Endeavour wrote:

    > Emily Patton Smith posted: “When I started this blog, I imagined it would > be a place where I could post short articles about topics I was > investigating. I wanted it to be a means of communicating ideas to others > who have similar research interests, as well as offering some insight t” >

    1. Patricia,

      Thank you so much for your reply! Now I am in the position to apologize, as I gave myself a week off after writing that last post and didn’t see your message immediately. I am so sorry to hear about your house–over a period of six years, my husband and I restored a house that was nearly condemned, and had many nerve-wracking months (and we didn’t have the added hassle of insurance companies to deal with!). Still, I know that is a lot of stress. I hope it gets sorted out.

      I’ve wondered who my blog followers actually were, and am so pleased to learn that you are one of them! That explains your fast reply to my earlier post on Parkinson’s name (which details I still need to add, thanks again for them). There seem to be three levels of correspondents I have at the moment: library & archives professionals whom I query for information regarding documents or visitation; other writers or researchers whom I am contacting for the first time; and other writers / researchers (like yourself) who respond occasionally when, as you have said, they have something to add to the dialogue. Of those, of course, the people who don’t reply are in the first two categories; those in the third category will respond eventually, as time and ability permits. The archives people who don’t reply are the most frustrating, because it means I have to keep track of everything that is not moving forward because there is a research gap. (And also: isn’t it the job of the reference / special collections librarian to reply to such queries? I am confused.) The researchers in the second category I also try to contact again, in case my message was waylaid, so I have to allow a reasonable amount of time to pass before I follow up–also a bit frustrating. The majority of my professional anxiety lately has been the result of failed connections to people in these two categories. But the personal anxiety comes into play with people in the third category, because I am rather attached to those delightful souls who have some work or insight in common with mine, and not hearing from them makes me feel the most isolated. At the same time, I know that these are some of the people who would be the ones to assail my inbox with messages of protest if I gave up the project!

      Focus is one of those things I struggle with at times because (as do most) I have a lot of competing demands for my time, and sometimes it seems that my time would be better spent on something that mattered to others, and not just to me. You are quite right about passion–it’s quite a specific to the individual; I see that quite frequently in my teaching. When I am passionate about something, the most I can hope for in my students is that they gain an appreciation for it. It’s an added bonus when one of them really does get excited about something I really love, but it certainly isn’t a given. But it does help me to maintain my focus if I feel that others care that I am doing what I do (whether that is in teaching or in writing). I often think that some amount of Parkinson’s incredible focus owed something to the fact that his work mattered a lot to Banks and Solander, who were omnipresent in the last three years of his life.

      So thanks very much for reaching out–I do feel better this week, largely because a few others also sent encouraging emails and Twitter messages, and another actually DID Skype (which worked well once I figured out how to use it!).

      Best regards, Emily

Leave a comment